nanaxindo.blogg.se

Light shining in darkness
Light shining in darkness




Or perhaps, like all of us, they tended to adopt the views of leaders and peers they respect, which for them included atheist scientists.Īnd yet…. Perhaps they didn’t want to be associated with religious people who have done wrong in the name of God. I also value those things, but see them as only partial answers to the big questions. Perhaps they saw science as sufficient because of the effectiveness of reason and evidence in discovering truths, or the power of medicine to heal, or the ability of science to answer questions about our natural history. They didn’t say that science has disproven God. They weren’t railing against God and religion. But the people I chatted with during that break seemed to be in a different place. Other atheists at the meeting did argue that religion was incompatible with science and addressed some of those larger questions. (I’ve heard since from Christians in science who often encounter such apparent apathy.) On the face of it, these smart people seemed to have no interest in some of the biggest questions of life. I had expected resistance to religion, not apathy. But for me, science and rationality can explain everything just fine.” One of them said to me, quite respectfully, something like “Well, if you care about those questions, that’s fine for you. For example, I think Christianity gives a compelling explanation for why we all long for goodness and yet are not able to achieve it. I tried to explain how I found the Christian faith to be the best explanation for the human condition. During a break, we had a chance to learn more about each other’s views. These were atheists and agnostics they didn’t believe in God themselves but were willing to attend a dialogue with people of various religions. A few months ago, I was chatting with some scientists at a university event on worldviews and science.






Light shining in darkness